Skip to main content
Home/Best Data Removal Services 2026
Source-checked comparison · August 2026

Best Data Removal Services 2026A Methodology-Driven Comparison Study

We scored 8 data removal services (DeleteMe, Incogni, OneRep, Optery, Aura, Privacy Bee, Kanary, OfflistMe) on 7 disclosed criteria: affordability, broker coverage, ongoing monitoring, service-level privacy, speed, transparency, and international coverage. Methodology, weights, and per-criterion scores are below. No single service wins every category, use the weighted scorecard to match to your priorities.

Unlike most roundups, we publish our rubric so you can re-weight it for your situation. Provider pricing and feature disclosures were checked against linked first-party sources on August 25, 2026. Where a current source did not establish a fact, the table says so.

✓ Sources checked: August 25, 20268 services · 7 criteria18 min read
Rahul Kandoriya
Written byRahul Kandoriya·Founder, OfflistMe·Last updated August 25, 2026

Best-for verdicts

  • Coverage counts need a taxonomy check: DeleteMe's general help explainer says 850+ sites, while its Standard US page provides a narrower named list; Privacy Bee lists 1,117 data-broker sources in its Pro and Signature comparison. These provider-published counts use different scopes and are not an outcome ranking.
  • Best-documented recurring-removal tier: Incogni Standard ($95.88/year) publishes 420+ automated sites and monthly reports; Unlimited adds 3,000+ additional sites and unlimited custom requests.
  • Most affordable + best service-privacy: OfflistMe (Free & Paid starts at $9 one-time), no account, no ID upload, send from your own inbox. OfflistMe does not charge extra for covering family members, family members can use the same paid version for free. Our yearly pass is $120 (currently discounted price is $60 with 50% off).
  • Best free starting point: Optery publishes a Free Basic tier; paid coverage and automation vary by plan.
  • Skip the category if: you only need one or two provider requests and prefer to use each provider's free route yourself. The trade-off is your time for research, verification, submission, and follow-up.

No service scored 8+ across all seven criteria. These are editorial, disclosure-based scores—not measured removal rates. Pick by which trade-off matters most to you, then check the linked provider sources and scorecard below.

Try OfflistMe, no account needed

Start with 3 brokers free (Whitepages, Spokeo, BeenVerified). Review the recorded routes across 1,009 US/global workflow profiles for a one-time plan.

Start Free →

Disclosure

This study is published by OfflistMe, which is one of the 8 services scored. To counter the conflict of interest, we publish our full scoring rubric and per-criterion scores for every service. OfflistMe does not score highest overall in our weighted ranking, it leads on affordability and service-level privacy, and trails on ongoing monitoring (which it does not offer). Readers are encouraged to re-weight the criteria to match their own priorities using the scorecard below.

Headline Findings

Category winners exist; a single winner does not.

No service scored 8+ across all seven criteria. The best-for-most-people pick is a weighted trade-off, not a clear leader.

Plan scope matters more than one headline number.

The checked sources show tiered coverage: Incogni lists 420+ automated Standard sites and 3,000+ additional Unlimited sites plus unlimited custom requests; Optery lists 380+ to 635+ by paid tier; Privacy Bee lists 1,117 data-broker sources for Pro and Signature; Kanary does not publish one fixed broker count on its current pricing page.

Identity-verification policies are not uniform.

This snapshot marks a policy as "Not stated" when the checked public source did not establish it. A specific broker may still request identity verification directly, and a provider-level statement is not a universal broker rule.

Broker coverage numbers are not directly comparable.

Services count brokers, sites, sources, additional sites, or custom requests differently. DeleteMe's general 850+ site explainer and narrower Standard US list, Privacy Bee's 1,117 data-broker sources, OneRep's 318 removal sites versus 870+ overall-site claim, and Incogni's tiered site/request counts should not be placed on one simple leaderboard.

Subscription services dominate, but the category has gaps.

Six of eight services use monthly/annual subscriptions; the other two are freemium and one-time models. One-time and freemium models are underrepresented in the market and in most roundups.

No service should be treated as a permanent-removal guarantee.

A recurring-removal feature describes a workflow, not a guaranteed outcome. Records can reappear, and this page did not run a controlled outcome study across providers.

What Does a Data Removal Service Actually Remove?

Start with the layer you want to change. A provider profile, the source page behind it, a public record, a search-engine result, and an AI response are different objects with different owners and request paths.

Target layerUsual first actionWhat to verify
Data-broker or people-search profileUse the provider's current privacy or opt-out route. The OfflistMe directory can help locate a recorded route.Exact profile match, required fields, verification, response, and whether the listing is still visible.
Publisher page or public recordContact the publisher, court, agency, or other record owner under the route that fits the facts.Whether the source owner has authority to correct, redact, seal, or remove the record.
Google, Bing, or another search resultUse the search service's current personal-information, legal, or outdated-content process when its criteria fit.Search-result change is separate from source-page removal and may not affect other engines.
ChatGPT or another AI responseUse the specific AI provider's current privacy or response-removal process.An AI request does not remove the source page, search result, or another model's output. See the ChatGPT privacy guide.

No service in this study was tested for permanent removal across all of these layers. Treat a provider's feature description as a workflow claim, preserve evidence, and check the layer you actually care about.

Methodology

We scored each service on 7 criteria using a 1–10 editorial rubric. The weighted sum determines the displayed ranking, but it is not a test of removal success. Weights reflect our view of what typically matters for a US-based consumer; readers with different priorities should use the per-criterion scorecard, source links and limitations below.

CriterionWeightScored on
Affordability20%Year-1 total price. $0 = 10, $150+ = 2.
Broker coverage15%Provider-published scope, with tier and counting-method differences disclosed where known.
Ongoing monitoring15%Frequency of re-removal (continuous = 9–10, quarterly = 7–8, none = 1–2).
Service-level privacy15%What the checked provider source discloses about identity, account and data-handling friction; unknowns are not treated as verified negatives.
Removal speed15%Provider-published timing or workflow signal where available; not a controlled time-to-removal measurement.
Transparency10%Clear pricing, no hidden upsells, public methodology or reports.
International coverage10%Disclosed geographic scope; a missing public statement is not treated as global coverage.

What this study does NOT measure

  • Actual removal success rates. That would require a 6–12 month empirical test with controlled accounts across hundreds of brokers, which is beyond the scope of this analysis.
  • Customer support quality. We did not systematically test response times or resolution quality.
  • UI/UX. We focus on structural features and cost, not visual design or onboarding flow.
  • B2B/enterprise features. Scoring is consumer-focused. Providers with strong enterprise offerings (e.g., Privacy Bee, Optery) may rank differently for business use cases.

Ranked Results (Weighted)

Overall weighted score, using the criteria and weights above. Scores are out of 10.

#ServiceModelYear 13-yr TotalWeighted Score
1OfflistMeOne-TimeFree / Paid starts at $9Free / Paid starts at $97.55/10
2IncogniSubscription$95.88 Standard; $179.88 Unlimited; family plans $191.88–$275.88$287.64 Standard; $539.64 Unlimited; family plans $575.64–$827.646.60/10
3OpteryFreemiumFree Basic; Core $39; Extended $149; Ultimate $249 (annual plans)Free Basic; Core $117; Extended $447; Ultimate $7476.45/10
4DeleteMeSubscription$129$3876.20/10
5KanarySubscription$250 Core; $500 Advanced (annual billing; family discount advertised)$750 Core; $1,500 Advanced6.00/10
6OneRepSubscriptionNot established from checked public sourceNot calculated; current price not established6.00/10
7Privacy BeeSubscription~$192 Pro; ~$804 Signature (annual billing, provider page)~$576 Pro; ~$2,412 Signature5.80/10
8AuraSubscriptionIndividual $144 annual; Couple $264; Family $384 (annual billing)Individual $432; Couple $792; Family $1,152 (annual billing)4.95/10

* Weighted scores reflect the default weights disclosed in the methodology. Re-weighting can change rankings meaningfully. See per-criterion scorecards below to construct your own.

Score Visualizations

Interactive charts of the weighted rankings and per-criterion breakdown. Click any service button in the radar chart to compare its score profile.

Adjustable cost-and-time scenario

Use your own broker count, time value, and comparison price. This arithmetic does not validate a provider's current price, coverage, or removal outcome.

Category Winners

Different users need different things. These are the leaders on specific dimensions:

Most affordable disclosed starting model
OfflistMe

Free and paid plans start at $9 one-time. This compares price structure only; it does not imply equivalent monitoring or removal outcomes.

Coverage count comparison
No single winner

DeleteMe's general help explainer says 850+ sites and its Standard US page provides a narrower named list; Privacy Bee lists 1,117 data-broker sources. The providers use different taxonomies, so a numeric leaderboard would mislead.

Best-documented recurring-removal option
Incogni

Its current Standard page publishes recurring removals, monthly reports and a 420+ automated-target scope.

Best free starting point
Optery

Optery publishes a Free Basic tier; paid site coverage and automation vary by plan.

Best service-level privacy
OfflistMe

No ID upload, no account required, requests sent from user's own inbox.

Best bundle (if you need more than removal)
Aura

Data removal is part of a broader digital-safety bundle. Compare its bundled price with the value of the other included features.

Per-Service Scorecards

Every service, every criterion, every score. This is the underlying data for the ranking above. Re-weight to your priorities.

#1

OfflistMe

One-Time🏆 Most affordable · Best service-privacy
www.offlist.me
Provider sources checked August 25, 2026: Privacy architecture · How the workflow works
7.55
weighted score / 10
Strength
Free tier with paid plans starting at $9 (one-time). The workflow is designed to process personal information locally, generate request drafts for documented broker routes, and let the user review and send from their own inbox. The catalog contains 1,018 research records, including 1,009 US/global workflow profiles; a catalog record is not the same as a fully field-verified broker profile.
Weakness
There is no automatic ongoing monitoring or guaranteed broker outcome. Users must review and send requests themselves and re-check when records reappear. The evidence ledger shows that field-level completeness varies across the 1,018 research records, so coverage should not be represented as 1,018 fully verified workflows.
Affordability(20%)
10
Broker coverage(15%)
7
Ongoing monitoring(15%)
2
Service-level privacy(15%)
10
Removal speed(15%)
8
Transparency(10%)
9
International coverage(10%)
6
Year 1Free / Paid starts at $9
3-year totalFree / Paid starts at $9
Brokers1,018 research records; 1,009 US/global workflow profiles; field evidence varies by record
Gov. IDNo
#2

Incogni

Subscription🏆 Best for continuous monitoring
incogni.com
Provider sources checked August 25, 2026: Current pricing and tier coverage
6.60
weighted score / 10
Strength
Incogni publishes separate Standard and Unlimited tiers: the current pricing page lists 420+ automated data-broker sites for Standard and 3,000+ additional sites plus unlimited custom removal requests for Unlimited, alongside recurring removals and monthly reports.
Weakness
Coverage and price depend materially on the selected tier, and the provider counts are not directly comparable with other services' site counts. The checked pricing page did not establish a universal ID policy or independently measured removal outcomes.
Affordability(20%)
6
Broker coverage(15%)
6
Ongoing monitoring(15%)
9
Service-level privacy(15%)
6
Removal speed(15%)
5
Transparency(10%)
7
International coverage(10%)
8
Year 1$95.88 Standard; $179.88 Unlimited; family plans $191.88–$275.88
3-year total$287.64 Standard; $539.64 Unlimited; family plans $575.64–$827.64
Brokers420+ automated Standard; 3,000+ additional sites plus unlimited custom requests on Unlimited (provider-stated)
Gov. IDNot stated
#3

Optery

Freemium🏆 Best free tier
www.optery.com
Provider sources checked August 25, 2026: Current pricing and tier features
6.45
weighted score / 10
Strength
Optery publishes a free Basic tier and annual Core, Extended and Ultimate plans with tier-specific site counts, monthly scans/removals, screenshot reports and custom-removal features. The current pricing page lists 380+, 555+ and 635+ coverage by paid tier.
Weakness
The count, automation and reporting features vary by tier, so a single Optery coverage number is misleading. Provider-published screenshots and site counts are evidence of the service workflow, not an independent measurement of permanent removal outcomes; the checked pricing page did not establish a universal ID policy.
Affordability(20%)
7
Broker coverage(15%)
8
Ongoing monitoring(15%)
7
Service-level privacy(15%)
4
Removal speed(15%)
6
Transparency(10%)
8
International coverage(10%)
5
Year 1Free Basic; Core $39; Extended $149; Ultimate $249 (annual plans)
3-year totalFree Basic; Core $117; Extended $447; Ultimate $747
Brokers380+ Core; 555+ Extended; 635+ Ultimate (provider-stated)
Gov. IDNot stated
#4

DeleteMe

Subscription
joindeleteme.com
6.20
weighted score / 10
Strength
DeleteMe's general help explainer says 850+ data broker sites, while its current Standard US help page provides a narrower named list. Its public plan page also describes quarterly privacy reports, custom requests, and broker workflows that may require member confirmation.
Weakness
The 850+ figure is provider-published general scope rather than an independently audited count, and the Standard US list is narrower. Coverage, confirmation steps, and actual removal outcomes can vary by broker; quarterly reporting is not the same as a measured permanent-removal rate.
Affordability(20%)
3
Broker coverage(15%)
10
Ongoing monitoring(15%)
8
Service-level privacy(15%)
3
Removal speed(15%)
7
Transparency(10%)
8
International coverage(10%)
6
Year 1$129
3-year total$387
Brokers850+ data broker sites (provider-stated general scope; Standard US has a narrower named list)
Gov. IDVaries
#5

Kanary

Subscription
www.kanary.com
Provider sources checked August 25, 2026: Current plans and coverage options · 2026 product brief
6.00
weighted score / 10
Strength
Kanary's current pricing page differentiates Core and Advanced coverage rather than publishing one fixed broker total. It lists monthly scans for Core and weekly scans for Advanced; Kanary's current product brief also describes configurable higher-frequency scans and Advanced coverage that includes social media and AI/LLM sources.
Weakness
The current price is materially higher than the older snapshot on this page, and no fixed broker count was established from the checked pricing source. Coverage, monitoring and identity-verification details should be compared at the plan level; actual removal outcomes were not independently tested.
Affordability(20%)
5
Broker coverage(15%)
7
Ongoing monitoring(15%)
8
Service-level privacy(15%)
5
Removal speed(15%)
6
Transparency(10%)
6
International coverage(10%)
5
Year 1$250 Core; $500 Advanced (annual billing; family discount advertised)
3-year total$750 Core; $1,500 Advanced
BrokersNo fixed broker count stated on checked pricing page
Gov. IDMay be requested in some cases
#6

OneRep

Subscription
onerep.com
Provider sources checked August 25, 2026: Provider homepage · Removal-status scope · Coverage-list policy

Affordability is provisional because the checked public pricing page did not provide a reliable current price.

6.00
weighted score / 10
Strength
OneRep's public pages currently describe monthly monitoring and removal from 318 websites. Its support documentation says the coverage list can change and describes custom-removal handling for its Pro offering.
Weakness
The homepage's 870+ overall-site figure and the removal-status page's 318-site figure use different scopes, so neither should be compared directly with another provider's count. A reliable current public price, universal ID policy and independently measured outcome rate were not established in this snapshot.
Affordability(20%)
5
Broker coverage(15%)
7
Ongoing monitoring(15%)
9
Service-level privacy(15%)
3
Removal speed(15%)
7
Transparency(10%)
6
International coverage(10%)
5
Year 1Not established from checked public source
3-year totalNot calculated; current price not established
Brokers318 removal sites; homepage also says 870+ sites (scope conflict)
Gov. IDNot stated
#7

Privacy Bee

Subscription
privacybee.com
Provider sources checked August 25, 2026: Current pricing and coverage · Removal capabilities and limits
5.80
weighted score / 10
Strength
Privacy Bee's current pricing materials describe consumer and higher-touch plans with automation, human analysts and tier-specific coverage reaching 1,117 data-broker sources on Pro and Signature. This makes it relevant for buyers who value assisted workflows or broader business use cases.
Weakness
Plan prices and source coverage differ substantially by tier, and the provider count is not directly comparable with other services' broker, site, or target counts. The checked public materials did not establish a universal ID policy or independently measured removal outcomes.
Affordability(20%)
2
Broker coverage(15%)
9
Ongoing monitoring(15%)
9
Service-level privacy(15%)
3
Removal speed(15%)
7
Transparency(10%)
6
International coverage(10%)
6
Year 1~$192 Pro; ~$804 Signature (annual billing, provider page)
3-year total~$576 Pro; ~$2,412 Signature
BrokersUp to 1,117 data-broker sources (tier-specific; provider-stated)
Gov. IDNot stated
#8

Aura

Subscription
www.aura.com
Provider sources checked August 25, 2026: Data-removal coverage and timing · Current plan pricing
4.95
weighted score / 10
Strength
Aura positions data removal inside a broader digital-safety bundle. Its current data-removal page states 200+ sites, daily rescans and resubmissions, monthly updates, and provider-dependent completion times of up to 30 days.
Weakness
The service is bundled, so its price is not directly comparable with removal-only products. The 200+ count and timing are provider disclosures, and the checked public page did not establish a universal ID policy or independently measured outcome rate.
Affordability(20%)
3
Broker coverage(15%)
5
Ongoing monitoring(15%)
8
Service-level privacy(15%)
3
Removal speed(15%)
7
Transparency(10%)
5
International coverage(10%)
4
Year 1Individual $144 annual; Couple $264; Family $384 (annual billing)
3-year totalIndividual $432; Couple $792; Family $1,152 (annual billing)
Brokers200+ sites (provider-stated)
Gov. IDNot stated

3-Year Total Cost Comparison

Subscription costs compound. Here is what each service costs over 1, 3, and 5 years at stated retail pricing. Promotional discounts not factored in.

ServiceYear 13 Years5 Years
OfflistMe (single run, starts at)$9$9$9
OfflistMe (2 re-runs/yr)$18$54$90
OfflistMe (annual plan)$120$360$600
Optery Core$39$117$195
Optery Extended$149$447$745
Optery Ultimate$249$747$1,245
Incogni Standard$95.88$287.64$479.40
Incogni Unlimited$179.88$539.64$899.40
OneRepNot statedNot calculatedNot calculated
Kanary Core$250$750$1,250
Kanary Advanced$500$1,500$2,500
DeleteMe standard$129$387$645
Aura Individual$144$432$720
Aura Family$384$1,152$1,920
Privacy Bee Pro~$192~$576~$960
Privacy Bee Signature~$804~$2,412~$4,020

* Three- and five-year figures multiply the linked provider's displayed annual price; they do not include promotions, tax, monthly-billing premiums, plan changes or cancellation terms. OneRep is left blank because a reliable current public price was not established. Privacy Bee figures are shown as approximate because the checked pricing source presents them as approximate.

Which Service Should You Pick?

Honest answers for common situations:

If You want a broad general scope statement and quarterly reports
DeleteMe
Its general help explainer says 850+ data broker sites, while its Standard US page provides a narrower named list; public plan materials also describe quarterly reports and custom requests. This is not a claim that it has the broadest comparable coverage.
If You want a recurring-removal plan with a clearly published automated target count
Incogni
Standard lists 420+ automated sites and monthly reports; Unlimited adds additional sites and unlimited custom requests under a separate tier scope.
If You want to start free and upgrade later
Optery
Optery publishes a Free Basic tier and tiered paid plans with different coverage and automation.
If You want the lowest disclosed total cost and do not mind periodic manual re-runs
OfflistMe
Free and paid plans start at $9 one-time. This is a price-structure comparison, not an outcome equivalence claim. Our yearly pass is $120 (currently discounted price is $60 with 50% off).
If You want the workflow to avoid ID upload to OfflistMe
OfflistMe
OfflistMe does not require ID upload to its systems; a specific broker may still have its own verification process.
If You already want a broader digital-safety bundle
Aura
Data removal is one part of a package. Compare the bundled price with the value of the other included features.
If You need assisted or business-oriented workflows
Privacy Bee
Its current materials describe tier-dependent automation and human analysts; compare the materially different plan prices.

Limitations of This Study

Feature-level, not outcome-level. We measured what services claim to do, not what they actually deliver. Real removal success rates would require long-running empirical testing outside this study's scope.

Snapshot in time. Prices, site counts, and features change. This version checked the linked first-party sources on August 25, 2026; check the provider page again before paying.

Conflict of interest. OfflistMe published this study and is included in it. We disclose this, publish our rubric, and do not rank OfflistMe first overall. Skeptical readers can use the per-criterion scores to build their own ranking.

US-centric weighting. The default weights assume a US consumer. EU/UK users may care more about international coverage and less about ID-upload risk (because GDPR has stronger protections).

Coverage numbers are provider-published. DeleteMe lists sites, Incogni separates automated and custom targets, Optery varies by tier, and OneRep publishes figures with different scopes. We did not cross-audit coverage lists or test removal outcomes.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best data removal service in 2026?

There is no single best service; the right choice depends on what you weight most. In this source snapshot, DeleteMe's general help explainer says 850+ data broker sites and its Standard US page provides a narrower named list; Privacy Bee publishes 1,117 data-broker sources on its Pro and Signature comparison; Incogni publishes 420+ automated Standard sites and 3,000+ additional Unlimited sites plus unlimited custom requests; and Optery publishes 380+ to 635+ coverage by paid tier. These scopes are not directly comparable. OfflistMe is the one-time, user-sent option in this comparison, with 1,009 US/global workflow profiles within a 1,018-record research catalog whose field-level evidence varies.

How is this ranking calculated?

Each service is scored 1–10 on seven criteria: affordability (20% weight), broker coverage (15%), ongoing monitoring (15%), service-level privacy (15%), speed (15%), transparency (10%), and international coverage (10%). The weighted sum produces the displayed ranking. Scores are editorial interpretations of linked provider disclosures checked August 25, 2026, not measurements of removal outcomes. OneRep's affordability score is provisional because a reliable current public price was not established.

Is this study independent or sponsored?

The study is published by OfflistMe, which is included among the 8 services evaluated. We disclose this directly. The methodology, weights, per-criterion scores and first-party source links are published. OfflistMe leads only on the editorial affordability and service-level-privacy dimensions; it trails on ongoing monitoring because it does not offer automatic monitoring. Readers should treat the ranking as a disclosed editorial comparison, not an independent outcome test.

Why is OfflistMe included if this is a comparison study?

Because excluding OfflistMe would be misleading to readers. OfflistMe represents a distinct market category (one-time payment, DIY-assist) that the seven subscription services do not cover. A comparison that excluded this category would give readers an incomplete picture of their options. Including it, with honest scoring that shows both its strengths (price, privacy) and weaknesses (no monitoring), is more informative.

What did this study NOT test?

Actual removal outcomes. This is a feature and cost comparison, not an empirical removal-success study. We did not create controlled accounts, submit the same requests across providers, or measure reappearance over time. The scores reflect disclosed features and pricing, not measured outcomes.

Which service is cheapest over 3 years?

There is no single cheapest plan until tier and billing cadence are specified. The current source snapshot shows OfflistMe starting at $9 one-time, Incogni Standard at $95.88/year, DeleteMe at $129/year, Kanary Core at $250/year and Aura Individual at $144/year. Optery and Privacy Bee publish multiple tiers, while a reliable current OneRep price was not established. Subscription totals include recurring workflow features that a one-time tool does not.

Do any of these services require uploading a government ID?

Policies vary by provider and broker. This page says "Not stated" where the checked public source did not establish a universal policy; that is not the same as a verified No. DeleteMe documents broker workflows that may require member confirmation. OfflistMe does not require ID upload to its systems, but a specific broker may have its own verification process. Check the provider and broker instructions before sharing identity documents.

Do data removal services remove public records or Google search results?

Usually not as one combined action. A data removal service may help with a provider-held profile or its opt-out workflow, but it does not automatically change a government record, the source page that published information, a Google or Bing index, or another AI service. Identify the layer first, then use the relevant provider, source, legal, or search-engine process and verify each result separately.

How should I compare data removal services fairly?

Compare the same plan duration and identify what each headline count means: brokers, websites, sources, automated targets, or custom targets. Then check whether the service sends for you or prepares a draft, whether monitoring is included, what identity or account information it requires, how current the source is, and whether the provider measured outcomes or only described features. A larger count is not automatically better coverage for your situation.

Related Resources

Generate requests in under 60 seconds

Generate requests with the one-time, no-ID option

OfflistMe is the one-time-payment option this study evaluated. Free and paid plans start at $9 (one-time) for reviewing recorded routes across 1,009 US/global workflow profiles. No government ID is sent to OfflistMe; requests are reviewed and sent by the user. Review current household, access, and plan terms before relying on them. The displayed annual term is $120 (currently discounted price is $60 with 50% off).