What Is Liberia 2024 General Data-Protection Act?
Liberia's Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications materials describe a 2024 general data-protection Act as pending and say that the independent authority has not been established. A 25 June 2026 statement from the Liberia Internet Governance Forum reports presidential signing, but the supplied research treats that report as a qualified, conflicting-source observation rather than as authenticated confirmation of the enacted text or commencement. No authenticated enacted text, commencement notice, current national authority route, or statutory rights text was located in the supplied pass. This profile therefore does not state that the general Act is in force, does not assign an operational regulator, and does not list specific statutory rights or remedies that cannot be checked against an authenticated text. The Liberia Telecommunications Authority Act 2007 was also among the supplied sources, but the research summary does not establish it as a substitute for a comprehensive personal-data statute. This is a bounded evidence profile, not a full claim-by-claim legal review.
At a glance
- Full name
- Liberia 2024 General Data-Protection Act
- Short code
- Liberia Data Protection Act 2024
- Jurisdiction
- Liberia
- Status
- Not an enacted law in this profile
- Last major update
- Ministry materials describe the 2024 Act as pending, while a 25 June 2026 Liberia IGF statement reports presidential signing; authenticated commencement remains unresolved
- Regulator
- No dedicated data-protection regulator located; the independent authority was described as not established
- Private right of action
- Limited
Scope, who Liberia Data Protection Act 2024 covers
Protected data
Data subject rights
No specific statutory data-subject rights can be stated safely because authenticated statutory rights text was not located in the supplied research pass
Notable features
No enactment year is recorded because the Ministry materials describe a 2024 Act as pending, while a 25 June 2026 signing report conflicts with that status and no authenticated enacted text or commencement notice was located. The signing report is not treated as proof that the law is in force.
Enforcement & penalties
Penalties: No authenticated statutory penalty text or consolidated penalty schedule was located in the supplied research pass, so no penalty figure is stated here.
Private right of action: No authenticated remedies or private-right-of-action text was located. The supplied research does not establish a separate civil damages route or an operational privacy complaint route.
Relevance to data brokers
The supplied summary does not identify a Liberia-specific data-broker, people-search, or public-record removal route. No such route is presented here while the general statute, authority, and rights text remain unresolved.
Generate requests in under 60 seconds
Generate removal requests for 1,034 US/global profiles, $9
FAQ
Is Liberia's 2024 general data-protection Act confirmed in force?+
No. Ministry materials describe the Act as pending, while a 25 June 2026 Liberia Internet Governance Forum statement reports presidential signing. The supplied research did not locate authenticated enacted text or a commencement notice.
What statutory privacy rights were located for Liberia?+
No authenticated statutory rights text was located in the supplied research pass, so this profile does not state a specific access, deletion, objection, or other statutory right.
Does Liberia have an operational national privacy regulator route?+
The Ministry materials describe the independent authority as not established, and no current national authority route was located in the supplied research.
Official sources & citations
Other international privacy regimes
Liberia Data Protection Act 2024 sits in a global ecosystem of data-protection laws. Compare with other jurisdictions that shape cross-border data flows:
